Registered: 05/14/07
Posts: 1072
Loc: Valley City, North Dakota
My norton keeps popping something up when i come here about a Malicious Java Download and it says the source is theleverageguild.com or some [censored], so Slam or Luna able to take care of this or?
When(if) its pops up again get the exact name and detail from Norton - I am interested in this.
I have been seeing some strange things occuring with Symantec products and Windows 7 Systems based on if they running 32/64.
But before all that - download "Malware Bytes" (Or Malware Antibytes - cant remember) but it is by far the absolute best anti malware program I have ever used. (Far superior to its expensive, resource hogging, counter part from Norton.)
Hmmmmm - When I got home Ill check a few of the 'sites' that can probably give me some good answers where is is coming from and what it really is.
I have a gut feeling its some worm attemping to mask itself as a java update to get by being a .exe - but was missing the dig sig of a real java update so norton caught it. But ill let you once I can get some decent data.
From what I managed to read about this file - and after looking over a little bit of the source code - it looks like it is a JAR file containing malware and other malicious goodies which can compromise your passwords/usernames. Since the file is technically (more or less) an .exe - it is disguising itself by probably imitating the interesting code of a java download (which are common and your computer usually does on a weekly basis without most of you really even knowing).
A crappy virus program (not saying norton is top of the line) would have let this program slide - but norton and many other larger programs will verify digitial signatures (which you can kinda think about as doing what an authenticator does for wow, but for a program). Not fool proof - but there a TONs of people without protection on their comps and this would easily have gotten by.
P.S. It is not the site itself they are coming from - it is the web banner adds. Most of these sites allow the user to upload their own flash files - which is a horrible idea.